2018 World Homeless Day Award Nominations Are Open!

Aug 13, 2018  |  at 1:23 pm  |  by awright

Share this post:

Do you know a group or individual who has been KEY in the effort to end homelessness in our region? View award categories and use the links below to submit your nominations today!

The Coalition will be hosting our annual World Homeless Day Awards Reception on October 10, 2018 from 5:30-7:30 pm at The Ballroom at Bayou Place, 500 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002.  Nominations will be accepted until September 10, 2018 at 3:00pm. Winners of each award will be announced mid-late September.

The Coalition for the Homeless, as lead agency to The Way Home homeless response system, provides leadership and drives the work to end homelessness in the Houston region. For several years the Coalition has commemorated World Homeless Day and honored those who are critical to the work of The Way Home. Hurricane Harvey may have disrupted our awards for 2017, but we are back to honor those who have been KEY in the effort to end homelessness!

2018 World Homeless Day Nomination Forms

The Business of the Year Award recognizes an individual or business that supports our homeless service system through donations, volunteerism, etc., homeless programs/activities, and helps bring awareness to homeless issues in our community.

The Housing Partner Award recognizes a property manager, landlord, PSH provider, etc., who has worked with homeless service providers or other staff to decrease barriers and ensure that homeless individuals have access to fair, affordable housing.

The Media Champion Award recognizes an individual or organization who uses print, broadcast, or digital media to keep public focus on the issues of homelessness or has provided positive coverage regarding homeless issues and solutions.

The Peg Dudar Individual Advocate Award recognizes an individual who serves as an advocate for the homeless population in the community, or an organizer who has worked to get the community more involved in the fight to end homelessness

Due to the increasing geography of The Way Home – more than 3,700 square miles! – the Coalition will be accepting nominations and honoring an individual and organization in each of our three counties in the following categories:

Sally Shipman Service Provider Staff Award Nomination Forms:
The Sally Shipman Service Provider Staff Award recognizes an individual who shows excellence in professional services to the homeless community.

Service Provider of the Year Nomination Forms:
The Service Provider Award recognizes a homeless service or mainstream service agency for their commitment to providing crucial services that help individuals remain housed.